holgersons

Leadville by James D. Best

In fiction on February 14, 2010 at 11:12 am

I had never been much of a fan of western novels, until a friend gave me a copy of “The Shopkeeper” by James Best. As soon as I heard that he had written a sequel, I quickly obtained a copy.
The author’s style is such that he brings the characters to life, and pulls you into the story. It is easy to envision them and understand more about the old west. As mentioned above, I was not a fan of western novels, but have always been interested in history.

As somewhat of an amateur historian, I can tell you that Mr. Best has done his research. His novels contain details of what it was like to live at that time, and you find yourself almost a part of the story.
I would highly recommend these two westerns to anyone with an imagination and curiosity about the history of our country. And besides, they are just excellent reading.

Leave a Reply

